Same Age, Different Life: Mission for a Healthy Pregnancy

IMG_7257

Silence arose upon the gloomy place that had a rugged path, poorly painted walls, and dusty floors. The eerie statues followed me with their cold glares. I could hear my heart beating as I walked across the courtyard and towards the medical room. The closet-sized room was poorly illuminated and contained an antique cabinet, two worn-out chairs, and a wooden desk. I sat there and thought about how I expected something completely different.

Knowing that I was going to Peru, my cousin had asked me two weeks before if I wanted to go volunteer with him at a sanctuary for teenage girls who are pregnant and abandoned. Peru is my home country and I was aware of its poverty, but I never imagined the center for these girls to look like this. After waiting thirty minutes, the first girl came in for her check-up. Her long black hair was tied into a braid with a bow. She was very tan, had huge brown eyes, and a crooked smile. Her light blue skirt skimmed the floor as she walked. However, what was most noticeable was her seven-month pregnant belly. She was not twenty or thirty years old like most pregnant ladies; she was only thirteen. To be fourteen-years old and see a thirteen-year old girl pregnant was astonishing. It turned out that there were many girls just like her at the sanctuary, but something about her alone stood out. Her positivity. She was always abused by her parents and then abandoned by them because she got pregnant with an older man.

At such a young age, she experienced such a difficult life with many hardships. You’d expect for someone who’s gone through that to be depressed or pessimistic, but she was the complete opposite. With enthusiasm filled in her voice, she talked about how excited she was to have her baby and learn how to live on her own. The sanctuary offered classes for cooking, cleaning, how to get a job, etc. She was ready to take all of them. She wanted her child to have the best life possible. The baby was going to be nothing but a blessing to her. She had aspirations to travel and be more successful. To her, the center for these girls was one of the most amazing things she’s seen. Her perspective on everything was always so positive and she never seemed to complain; she just appreciated.

Once we were done for the day, I reflected upon my experience. I came to the realization that I went with the intention to help these girls, but in the end they helped me. As I walked out, I glanced at the beautiful daises seated on the bush alongside a wall. The sky was blue and filled with many small clouds. There were colorful stickers placed all over the doors. However, the best part was the captivating silence that made your thoughts go free.

https://www.younglives.org.uk/content/teenage-pregnancy-peru-why-its-so-high-and-what-can-be-done

Leave a comment